Propagating geraniums – how to take geranium cuttings.

 Picture of man in shed from the internet.

The geraniums in the tub below are beginning to look a bit tired.  Time to take cuttings.

I decided to start with the red one in the pot. Look at the next picture.  Can you see the larger stalk on the right of the red geranium?

That’s the one I’m starting with. Cut it off with your secateurs, just below a growing tip. See next picture to make sure you know what I mean by a growing tip.

Now remove and discard all the lower leaves and any flower stalks that are still apparent.  If you do this then the growth will go into the making of new roots and not into the production of more flowers. The larger leaves would die anyway so they need to come off. Now you are left with a perfect cutting. This will become a new plant, which you can put in your border next year, but you have to keep it indoors all through the winter.

Find your compost.  I put mine in a large blue tub, which doubles up as a play piece for my grandson when he comes round.  He loves to dig in here and it is relatively free from germs.

Put some of the compost in a small flower pot.  This one is a four inch pot. Incidentally this is not very good compost. I bought it in the Supermarket and it was cheap, but it is quite woody and not ideal for this job. The best compost is John Innes no. 2 which is a much finer compost. However I’ve put it in here so you can see the difference.  This would not be suitable for sewing seeds into. For that job you would need a much finer compost.

Poke the cutting into the compost in the pot until the growing tip is covered.  I’ve left this one a bit proud so you can see what I mean. You will need to poke it in further than this one.

Notice that a caterpillar has had a chew at this leaf.  Make sure he’s still not on the leaf when you plant the cutting (for obvious reasons).

This morning I did several.  I planted them together in a tub in the garden. They should be fine in there for another month and will benefit from the sun and the rain.  It will also make them hardy.  When I come back from America in mid October, I will take some more pictures of these cuttings so you can see how they’re doing. By then they will need to be put in pots and brought indoors before the first frosts arrive.

In the tub I have a selection of white, red, pink and peach cuttings.  It will be interesting to see which ones do the best.

These are cuttings of lychnis and Sweet Williams.  I’ll talk more about them another time.

After all that work, I reckon I deserved a nice lunch so I went into Oma’s kitchen and made myself a fry-up. Yummy!

What are you doing today?

13 thoughts on “Propagating geraniums – how to take geranium cuttings.

  1. Loved how you took us through step by step.. we did exactly the same last year, and they are looking good in our front garden.. Oh I do wish you hadnt shown me your lovely Fry-Up though Oma, as I now need to go and get my own lunch…. You made me hungry! 😉

    • I’m glad you had success with your geraniums this year Sue. The weather wasn’t brilliant was it. Mine were late to flower so it has been a short season. I’ve eaten the fry up followed by an orange and now feel very satisfied. It was a good day’s work!

  2. I’ve been so busy with my apartment move that I’ve gotten behind on blogging. I do appreciate this one, though, Star. I really like knowing how to do this!

    • So you’re really doing it, oh my! I’m sorry you felt the need! Who’s going to feed your birds now? Perhaps they will find you. Are you in the same block. Must pop over and catch up with you later today if you’ve had time to post. Good luck with the move 🙂

  3. You’ve reminded me I still need to do those camellia cuttings.. but I’ve managed to strike some sage and french tarragon, which I hope I can now keep in a pot in the greenhouse.

    • ha ha! I had an orange for dessert so I didn’t feel too guilty. Then again, now that I’ve reached the age that I am, I feel like I can let down my guard a little! In other words – eat what I damn well please!!!

  4. It’s always so rewarding to ‘make’ new plants from cuttings or small seedlings. I bring my geraniums inside for the winter. I’ve had success just sticking cuttings into a jar of water to root. You have to be sure to harden off the new plants come spring to toughen up the leaves before leaving in the sun. Great demo post 🙂

  5. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly.
    I’m quite certain I’ll learn many new stuff right here!

    Best of luck for the next!

Leave a comment