Preparing for Christmas

DSCF2097

It’s time to start the preparations for Christmas, isn’t it! Time to find or remember where you put the decorations, the Christmas cards, ribbons and bows and of course the Christmas tree. Time to make that all important cake and start the shopping… I’ve noticed that my branch of Sainsbury’s is getting busier by the day. There were very few free spaces in the car park this morning. On the shelves there is change!  Familiar items have disappeared for the time being to make room for all those special treats we come to expect at this time of the year.

One of the places I love to visit is Poplars, the garden centre, which is a short drive from where we live.  They always put on a good display for Christmas and each year there is a different theme.  This year’s theme is The Snow Queen and you can see her in the picture below, sitting on her sleigh with the reindeer in front.  There is a Santa hut for the children. It gets more spectacular each year.  The restaurant does good business with mince pies galore and a view of the Christmas trees for sale just outside the window.

IMG_0194 IMG_0195 IMG_0196

IMG_0197

Garden centres do big business over here these days.  They have changed enormously since the days when they were just nurseries. Now they are grand and full of all sorts of delights and it is possible to spend the whole day in them.

We bought a new Christmas tree for this year. I think it’s a little bigger than the previous one but we are restricted by space so it is still small. I may need to buy some new baubles for it (yeah) but must wait and see. First I need to assess the situation and where we’re going to put it etc.

Will you be having a Christmas tree in your home this year? Have you decorated it yet?

Oma

3 thoughts on “Preparing for Christmas

  1. Oh you right about the supermarket shelves being changed around so all the seasonal bits and pieces are given pride of place. Tried to find something the other day and then discovered it relegated to an out of the way corner – ‘we don’t sell enough of that for it to be a problem’ I wa told after I collared one of the checkout chicks and asked her to find it for me! It was a problem for me I told her in no uncertain terms lol
    Our tree goes up and is dressed just before Christmas Eve – I know lots of people start early in December but not me. The traditional Twelve Days is the way to go as far as I’m concerned. The puddings are done and are now ‘resting’ before their final boil on the day but as I’m not a great Christmas cake maker I’ll try the local bakery again this year.
    How about you Stella – what progress have you made?

Leave a Reply

