My English Garden – August 2014 – rhubarb, rhubarb, rhubarb

 

IMG_0079

It’s been a very good year for rhubarb in my English garden this year. Above is a picture of some stalks I picked the other day, and was glad to give away because there is only so much rhubarb you can eat as a family!

The leaves were gigantic as well. Here I am holding up two of them. They look like umbrellas, don’t they.

 

IMG_0078

It has also been a very good year for runner beans:

IMG_0084

and we have been eating them for a couple of weeks now. They are really a colder weather crop and so long as they get plenty of water, they always seem to do just fine. I prepare them as I was taught when I was small.  My mother was very particular about the cutting process and I had to get them just right. The thinner the better. Later on when I got married, I bought a bean slicer, but it never did such a good job. Now I buy a new knife every summer and use it for the first time when the first beans come in from the garden. That way I get the best cut, just so long as it’s not my fingers!!!

IMG_0129

We have lots of tomatoes, but they are not ripening very fast.  We need more sunshine, please?

IMG_0092

Lots of people have been clicking on a post I did last year about propagating geraniums.  I’ll tell you how this year’s babies are doing next time.

I greet you from a very rainy England 🙂

Oma

2 thoughts on “My English Garden – August 2014 – rhubarb, rhubarb, rhubarb

  1. We have had the sunniest summer since I moved here six years ago. The tomatoes are all ripening in an amazing abundance. I wish the same for yours, Oma. 🙂

Leave a Reply

