A new raw fleece cometh.

DSCF1869

I am currently spinning with this beautiful dark purple roving, which I bought from E-bay. It’s a very soft merino. It spins up quite quickly and is a joy to work with.

 

DSCF1865

So far I have several spools of it and some of it is already in use. More of that another day.

DSCF1867

 

However, I am excited about getting a raw fleece to work with, later in the week so I will be back on here to tell you how I’m getting on with that. I’m not sure what I’m getting yet, but it could well be a long staple variety, like the one in the following video. You will see how http://www.taylormadeyarns.co.uk spins up an art yarn using a Wensleydale fleece. It’s quite fascinating. Do take a look:

Oma

6 thoughts on “A new raw fleece cometh.

  1. Exciting! A friend of mine just told me she scored a brown alpaca for me. It’s probably not been shorn for spinning or sorted into qualities (back part should be best), but I’m still looking forward to it. Hope it’s not too felted like the camel I got and had to give up on.

Leave a Reply

