The Blossom is out – finally!

DSCF1022

I took a short walk around the neighbourhood the other day and was so pleased to notice that the blossom is out – at last!

But wait a moment? What’s going on here? They’re digging up the playing field?

DSCF1023

There are eight plots like this one, all dug up and ready for planting. Whatever is going on?

DSCF1018

I walked a bit further and then I noticed the sign.  All is explained.


DSCF1024

What a great idea! So I will be returning to see how they’re getting on and of course I’ll keep you fully informed…

and if you want to read more, you can visit the website, which is here

Oma

7 thoughts on “The Blossom is out – finally!

  1. This is such a good idea, and I look forward to seeing more of it in the future, Star. Sending you big hugs from the Pacific Northwest. 🙂

  2. Brilliant idea. We do need more trees and grasslands to help the environment. Where I live there has bee a recent planting of trees that will/should last 100 years. I get really annoyed when people chop trees down and get rid of lawns simply to replace them with bricks or slabs. There should be a law about that.

    • Valerie: yes the destruction of front gardens is happening a lot in my area too. I don’t think that the project I talked about will include trees, at least not this time. I think it is more to do with wild flowers, grasses etc. The area I photographed has always served a useful purpose, that of allowing people from the nearby houses to have somewhere to exercise their dogs etc. and for children to play. It is not exactly a play area, more an area of greensward for all to use. However, it is so important these days for us to look after our wildlife, like bees and butterflies, that this project can only be of good to the community.

Leave a Reply

