Baking Day at the Cottage.

DSCF0990

Tuesday was baking day at the cottage. I decided to make some bread.

DSCF0992

Sadly, it was  the day after Mrs. Margaret Thatcher died. R.I.P Margaret. She was a strong leader, liked by some, hated by others. Me? I liked her very much.  I didn’t agree with everything she said or did but she never faltered. I feel safe with people who make up their minds and stick to it. Thanks to Mrs. Thatcher, my mother was able to buy her own council house (social housing dwelling) after paying rent for forty years. At the grand age of 62 my mother got a mortgage and actually owned her own house! She was so delighted with it and that finally she had something to leave to me (her only daughter) when she died.

DSCF0995

Unfortunately, that was not to be because my mother got very sick and had to go into an old folk’s home. They took all her money except for a small amount which was left when she died a year later.

DSCF0996

However, owning her own house gave my mother such pleasure and it was all because of Margaret Thatcher.

DSCF0997

DSCF0998

I cooked the loaf in my gas oven at Gas Mark 7 (very hot) for 30 minutes but the gas must have been high on Tuesday because it caught a little on the top. Next time I’ll move it down a rung.

DSCF0999

It didn’t alter the flavour though and we are still enjoying it today (Friday). Almost gone now.

DSCF1001

Would you like a slice?

DSCF1002Oma

6 thoughts on “Baking Day at the Cottage.

  1. I can smell the aroma from here, I love to bake my own bread but have been lazy these past few weeks, I did however bake a batch of scones today following a Mary Baker recipe which were the softest and lightest I think I have ever baked…
    Wishing you a wonderful weekend,
    Sue

    • I bet it’s lovely though. I don’t have room in my kitchen for a breadmaker and I’m lazy so I don’t make bread all the time. I have fads on it, like most people I suppose. By the way, I read your post about the bullying thingy. Isn’t it amazing how these things go on. I hope it’s all concluded now?

Leave a Reply

