In the garden with Oma – time to take cuttings!

I always take my cuttings in August so now I need to get busy.  I’ve already taken some Sweet Williams’ cuttings and they are doing very well. The lychnis too are fine but I have yet to get stuck in to plant wallflower seeds for next Spring.

Just look at this rhubarb leaf! I don’t exaggerate when I say it’s as big as an umbrella. If it started to rain, I could stand underneath it and keep dry.

The phlox are in full bloom just now.  They are so pretty and so prolific and welcome at this late summer time of the year. There’s a teasel in the bed too, cheeky!

This pretty pink rose is an old timer.  It’s been with me in the garden for a very long time.  So long that I’ve forgotten what it’s called!

This year it has thrived, other years it hasn’t done so well and I’ve threatened to dig it up, but I never do.

I think it’s done better this year because I’ve been fussing over the petunias, see picture below. I’ve made sure they’ve had lots of water and food and the rose has benefited from the extra attention. (Make note for next year – fuss over old rose more!)


Now back to my cuttings. Must get on and do them NOW.

Oma

6 thoughts on “In the garden with Oma – time to take cuttings!

  1. I couldn’t see the last picture, at least I guess it was a picture in that huge square. Love the rhubarb AND the teasel. I have tried to get teasels to grow in my wild patch but nothing ever comes of my attempts.

    • That’s interesting Valerie. I think we all have things that will and things that won’t grow in our gardens, don’t we. I’ve never had any luck with foxgloves!

  2. Have you ever tried taking cuttings from Camellia? August is supposed to be the time, but I tried last year and none of them took. Don’t know why. Must have another go.

Leave a Reply

