A Visit to Ely Cathedral

Image

This picture shows a tortoise stove in Ely Cathedral.  Believe me they are welcome in winter when the cold winds from Siberia blow directly towards Ely Cathedral in the heart of the Fens in England.  I lived in Ely for two years back in the 1970’s and almost every day I would walk towards and into the cathedral for a warm-up or a cool down depending on the time of the year.

You can read the history of Ely Cathedral here. It has a truly fascinating history.

One of my ambitions has been to visit all the cathedrals in England. I’m achieving the goal slowly!

I’d l’d like to show you more of the cathedral so I’ve inserted a slideshow (hopefully) so you can see the wonderful octagon which is self-supporting and made entirely of wood.

Enjoy the slideshow.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Do you have any ambitions like this? to visit special places.

10 thoughts on “A Visit to Ely Cathedral

  1. You’re back! I like the new blog! Love seeing pictures of England. As for your post on aging — I was just at a gathering of my high school friends. At sixty-nine, I’m the youngest — they’re all seventy. Yet they were all blond and I am proudly white-haired. There are no rules for aging, in my opinion. Dye or don’t, dress fancy or comfortably, it’s up to each of us to decide. My personal rule is to try to be pretty clean and not scare children.

    • So lovely to see you here Vicki. It’s so odd being here. I feel just like I’ve moved house and need to get to know the neighbours (ha ha). Yes, at 60 I’m in the transition phase and it ain’t easy. One day I want to be grey and grandma-ish but the next I want to be glamorous with make-up and coloured hair. I feel sorry for my family as I go through this period of my life. Thank God it hasn’t affected my emotions towards them.
      Thank you for visiting. Please come again. I’ll make you a cup of your favourite coffee and put it in a blue mug, just for you 🙂

  2. Star !!!
    Welcome back to the Land of Blog 🙂
    Such wonderful pictures of the cathedral, I’ll have another watch of the video later, I’m busy with family visiting all the way from Maine right now.
    I think you look marvelous dahling, natural or dyed hair, go with what makes you happy.
    My hair is long, there are times I think being 60 years old is too old for long hair, then the next day, I’m glad I have it, I ‘pect we’ve earned the choice of being wishy-washy 😉
    Talk to you soon lovey,
    Hugs,
    ~Jo

    • Hey Jo, so lovely to see you on here. I’m feeling my way around in my new world. I’ve done it before! so I suppose I can do it again, but just like last time, I want to take my friends with me. Stop by again and I’ll make you a nice cup of tea in your favourite design of teapot – Old Country Roses, will that do? What’s your favourite blend?

  3. So good to see you back..
    I enjoyed Ely Cathedral when I visited the area in the 90s. Thanks for sharing such wonderful pictures.
    I like your other post about ageing and you are looking good for OMA. The short hair is always quicker to maintain and you look younger.
    Looking forward to see and read all your future posts.
    I like your new title. Cottage Life in England!

  4. I put a comment on your earlier post, but I just wanted you to know I am HERE and will link this site from my “favorites” site on my blog. It may take me a day or two but I’ll get it done. I am so glad to see you looking so sweet… and thank you for reminding me that you are now over here and not gone at all! 🙂

  5. Great photos. 🙂 I think your ambition to visit all of the Cathedrals in England is a fascinating one. I bet you will see some beautiful, historic ones. I’ve always wanted to see all the Missions in my state, but just never found the time,

Leave a Reply

