Bonnie’s blanket

Bonnie on her blanket

I’ve been working through my stash of yarn recently. All those odd balls of wool knocking around doing nothing. I began to feel like I should be doing something about them!

I would love to have a dog, but at the moment it isn’t possible and I don’t think Millie would be too pleased if we invited a dog into the house. However it occurred to me that if I couldn’t have a dog here, then I could do something to help a dog I didn’t own. Perhaps one who needed a blanket? So I got out my knitting needles and followed the pattern on the Battersea Dogs’ and Cats’ Home website and made a colourful blanket. I enjoyed making it and when it was done, I packed it up and sent it off to London.

DSCF1838

Very soon back came the picture of Bonnie,one of the dogs for re-homing, lying on the blanket. That made me so happy, I think I’ll make another one!

DSCF1836

and if I’ve made a little mistake in the pattern, well – the dogs won’t notice, will they.

 

Here’s the detail of the basket stitch: Four stitches plain, four stitches purl, alter the order after four rows. Sounds easy, but it isn’t difficult to go wrong, especially when there’s something good on the TV.

DSCF1837

 

You can find the patterns on the Battersea website. Click here for information.

4 thoughts on “Bonnie’s blanket

  1. Such a nice thing to do! And when they take pictures of dogs for adoption, sitting on the lovely blanket, the dogs will be all the more appealing.

    • Yes, well they’re not stupid are they because when I saw Bonnie sitting on the blanket, I immediately wanted to go and get her! BUT Millie would not appreciate it and Larry and J are not in favour because of the commitment. However, I feel like I have at least one more dog in my life. It’s just a case of when. We are only just beginning to experience a bit of freedom from family commitments and they are a tie.

Leave a Reply

