Sunday is gardening day!

DSCF1841

We had some really fine weather over the last two days and my flame tulips opened right up. I’ve been watching them growing from my sun-lounge and couldn’t wait to see them open up. Here they are in all their splendour.

DSCF1842 DSCF1844 DSCF1845

and the camellia bush is flowering early this year. That’s a bonus. There are lots of flowers on it and such a joy to see.DSCF1847

DSCF1848

DSCF1824 DSCF1826 DSCF1827

and before I forget, the butterflies are out and about too. I just managed to catch this one sunning its wings in the sunshine. It’s a peacock – gorgeous, aren’t they.

DSCF1849

Have you seen any butterflies recently?

Today is Mothers’ Day in England. We are earlier than most places. I consider myself very lucky today. I have had two visits and a phone call.

Thinking of my own mother, who died in 1992, I remember a very Dutch lady who loved her tulips. So here is a toast to my mum and her tulips.

Is there a flower that you associate with your own mother? If so, which one comes to mind?

Oma

 

 

12 thoughts on “Sunday is gardening day!

  1. Happy Mother’s Day to you! I will spend some time thinking of my own mother, who died in 1993. I love your flower pictures. And those flame tulips are living up to their name. :-)

  2. Wow! It’s been gardening day here as well, but we’re not that far along. Got some new Spirea bushes for the gap in the hedge (it died) and cut down all the dead perennials from last year.

  3. Hope you Had a Happy Mom’s Day…gardening is a perfect way to spend it with the Wonderful Mother Nature :) I have been gardening all week after the rains and cold left…
    Beautiful photos! and I love the video…perfect with your photos and as a tribute to your Mother…
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

  4. what a nice tribute to your mum Oma. and so obvious well to me that Tulips would be her flower of choice.
    Sweet Peas for me – can never look at them but not be reminded of my mother. She would grow them up a chain link boundary fence, and contrary to popular belief about not using the same place each year up they would come. Can’t remember if she saved seed or bough new each year tho.
    Do they not use the term Mothering Sunday now? We’ve been away from England for over forty years now and that was the name for the 4th Sunday in Lent then.
    Take care
    Cathy

    • I think we do still call the day ‘Mothering Sunday’ as well as ‘Mothers’ Day but Mothers’ Day seems to be the most common.
      I love sweet peas too, but I haven’t had much success in growing those here for some reason. At my last address I grew the perennial variety, which came up each year without re-seeding and those grew up against a chain-link fence too. It was the ideal way to grow them really – no trouble at all.
      How lovely that sweet peas remind you of your mum.

Leave a Reply

