Book Review – The Light Between Oceans

The Light Between Oceans

I just finished this book the other day. It was fabulous. Funny how some books capture your imagination and others don’t. That’s why it is difficult to recommend because I always feel like ‘well, I liked it, but maybe they won’t’. However, this book is so good and I’m not alone in feeling that, that I have no hesitation in recommending it.

It is impossible to review it in depth without giving the story away so all I will say about that is that it is all about a lighthouse keeper and his wife who live on a tiny island beneath the lighthouse off the western coast of Australia. One day a boat drifts on to their shore. In the boat is the dead body of a man and a tiny 2 month old baby. What happens next you must read for yourself. I think you will find the book hard to put down.

The authoress is M. L. Stedman and it is her first novel, published in July 2012. For a first novel or even a subsequent one, it is stupendous. Why? because I couldn’t put it down. Not a word is wasted and yet her descriptions are thorough and the characters are very well drawn.

Be warned – it is a heartbreaking story so you’ll probably need the tissues. I did and when the book was finished, I was left with that empty feeling that only comes at the end of great story.

I’m told a film is coming so be quick and read the book first because they’re always better than the films, right?

Oma

8 thoughts on “Book Review – The Light Between Oceans

  1. I am a big book reader and even review books for a company over here. I find the books better than the movies made. A prime example was Angela’s Ashes, the book was so much better. But that’s just my humble opinion.

    Gill in Canada

  2. There is nothing better than getting into a good book… I often feel empty when I close the last page and finish a good read… This one sounds to have captured your imagination and heart.. :-) Wishing you a beautiful Week Oma..
    Sue xox

    • Yes it did but it’s very hard to review it. Since it is plot based, without explaining some of the things that happen to take the story forward, it is difficult to do it justice.

    • Yes, it is plot driven so hard to review without giving anything away and mustn’t do that because it would spoil the enjoyment. There is much emotion in it and choices to be made. It made me think that our lives are based on the choices we make and the roads we take and I’ve made a lot of choices over the years. Perhaps that’s why I found it so enjoyable. She is a great writer.

  3. You’re at it again Stella! You naughty girl. You caused me to buy two books recently didn’t you. Yes, you know you did. Miss Read … remember? Oh yes, you know what I’m banging on about. And now, how very dare you, you’re trying to make me visit Amazon again.

    I shall NOT be buying this book you recommend! Well, not today. But you’ve planted the seed now. You’re just a witch! Well, you know that anyway don’t you.

    • Hee hee yes Croydon George… Actually my review could have been a lot better. Perhaps I will expand on it very soon, but if I do, I will have to be very careful that I don’t give the game away with regards to the plot. Since I love reading so much myself, I cannot help but want to pass on to others what I have enjoyed. Watch the space.

Leave a Reply

