Baby Sam’s First Christmas and a new project for me.

DSCF1735a

This is my second grandson, Sam. He is sitting on his mum’s lap, opening his Christmas presents. He is a little confused about it all because it is his very first Christmas and he’s not sure what it’s all about. The quilt over his knees was his main present from me. You can see more about it here… I think he likes it. It has a jungle theme so I bought him  a tiger to go with it and a storybook called ‘The Tiger Who Came to Tea’. Don’t you just wish you were that age again?

So now that I’ve finished that quilt, what am I working on next? Well, here it is, a quilt for Larry (my husband). When I was in America, I loved going to Joanne’s Fabric Emporium. They have every sort of craft going on in there and they are very big on quilting. I was inspired every time I stepped through the doors. Now that I’m back in England, I feel deprived because the nearest shop I have to that is quite a way away and my local shop is tiny. I buy a lot of materials online, but I did bring some American themed material back with me so the quilt for Larry has an American theme (in case he gets homesick) and I’m making it in a homespun sort of design. I fell in love with the homespun style while I was there and for those of you reading this who are English and unaware of the style, take a look here:

I love the spooky nature of the Primitive Style. It appeals to that side of me as I love all things natural and home-made.

Here’s a preview of Larry’s quilt, which I still have to sew up. The layers are in place like  a sandwich and I’m pinning them together so they don’t shift about when I sew.DSCF1749 DSCF1750

Sam Xmas 2013

and one more picture of Baby Sam’s first Christmas:

Oma :)

8 thoughts on “Baby Sam’s First Christmas and a new project for me.

    • Indeed I am Phil. Sam has a very cheeky smile. He reminds me of a little leprechaun. All his family on his mum’s side, including his mum, are Irish. I think he takes after them at the moment. He laughs quickly and seems to have a very exaggerated sense of fun. He also has a very deep voice for such a little one.

    • Yes, Sam’s first months have flown by. Maybe it’s because I don’t see quite as much of him as I do of Dylan, but he’s thriving and learning new things all the time. It’s fascinating to watch him exploring his world.

    • Yes, he has stars and stripes and , I hope, a truly American look. I am struggling with my walking foot at the moment (it was a Christmas present). I hope I get the hang of it soon…

Leave a Reply

