Dylan update – Dylan has a new house!

photo (5)

This is my little grandson, Dylan. He has some big news. A week before Christmas he moved into a new house! Here at the cottage, it was very exciting news because the move had been on/off, on/off, on/off, all through December. There was a small snag concerning the Land Registry and that held everything up. (Isn’t there always a small snag!!!). Anyway, in the end all was well and they moved in on a fairly nice day without too much wind and cold.

It took till lunchtime to get the van loaded at the old house and then til tea-time to get into the new one. By then everyone was tired. Dylan came to the cottage for the day while everything was going on and Larry was ‘on loan’ to help with the move. My son and his wife coped admirably and even seemed to enjoy it.

The next day the priority became putting up the Christmas decorations. The other grandparents did a lot of that, so that by the end of day 1, the house looked like Christmas had arrived and the family were very happily ensconced in their new abode. I don’t have pictures yet, but suffice to say it is bigger than the last house and Dylan has a very nice, new bedroom to put all his new toys in.

+++

Christmas is now over, in the main; although because I love it so much, I refuse to stop celebrating in my own quiet way. This afternoon I intend to sit down and watch ‘Holiday Inn’ because I really enjoy that film. I have a new, digitally coloured version, which is excellent.

When I woke up this morning, there was a hard frost all over the ground. Larry had never seen such a thick frost before. It looked like snow to him. No doubt he will mention it in his next missive, which I must encourage him to write.

So now I must get back to the kitchen. We have roast lamb for dinner today. It is already smelling wonderful…

6 thoughts on “Dylan update – Dylan has a new house!

  1. Gosh Dylan is growing up fast.. and I expect he just Loved Christmas, as my little one did… I hope he is settling into his new home and bedroom.. No doubt that new bedroom will be full of all his presents…
    Pleased to know you are unscathed as the wind and floods have wreaked havoc with many places up and down the country… we only had a fence panel out.. so were lucky…

    Have a wonderful New Year Oma, and see you in 2014 xxx

  2. I hope Dylan and his family are very happy in their new home.

    I remember those frosts in the Pacific Northwest of the US, where it’s also very warm and wet; the ground would lift up sometimes with the ice crystals underneath.

Leave a Reply

